A Convert’s Testimony

I may not be as new in the Church as you may be, but just like you, I am a fruit of the prayers and hard work of full-time missionaries and friends who took their part to bring souls unto Christ.

As mentioned in Chapter 9 of Preach my Gospel, I did not realized that I was looking for the Restored Gospel until I found it.

I am grateful to a friend who, despite my known skepticism about the Church, took the courage to give me a Book of Mormon. I know by the power of the Holy Ghost that the Book of Mormon is a true word of God. Before I was even taught by the missionaries, I have read, pondered and prayed about it daily for a year until I almost finished it and I was humbled by the Lord. It brought a mighty change in my heart.

I know that Institute is an inspired program of the Lord. There is so much wisdom in the words of President Thomas S. Monson to make Institute a priority. Here is where you can find deeper understanding and appreciation of the atonement of Jesus Christ and where you can find friends who bring you closer to him. After a year of reading the Book of Mormon and receiving a personal testimony about it, I went to Manila Philippines Institute of Religion (MPIR) to look for missionaries to teach me. Missionaries were not around when I arrived there, and I am thankful to two new friends I found that time who fellowshipped me. I remember their excitement and how they rushed to Sister Jo to get the contact number of the missionaries. There in MPIR buildings, I received missionary discussions that built the foundation of my faith.

I know God is our Heavenly Father and He loves us so much and He has a wonderful plan of happiness for each of us. I remember how this knowledge enabled me to get through challenges prior to my baptism. My mom whom I loved so much, was very hurt of my decision to move to the Church. Few days before my baptism was her birthday, she told me if I love her, I won’t do it or she will be very much disappointed about me. Breaking my mom’s heart was breaking mine twice. But my understanding of the plan of salvation helped me realized that getting baptized opens the door for my family to receive the restored gospel. And that if I really loved her, getting baptized was what I should do so my family can have a hope of being together forever. And that her pain will only last but a moment compared to that eternal goal.

I know that missionary work is the great and marvelous work of the Lord. I testify of the exceedingly great joy of bringing souls to Christ and how you become a little more like Him as you learn to love those you teach, you visit, you fellowship. Participating in missionary work is an outward expression of charity, the pure love of Christ. I know that service is the language of charity. I have seen service touch the lives of many and soften their hearts to the Restored Gospel. My family is a recipient of this service and I have seen how my mom, though not a member yet, learned to love the Mormons because she had seen how members were willing to serve me and my family in our trying times.

I know this Church, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the only true Church upon the face of the earth. This testimony makes me feel how the Lord expects me to help make the truth known to others. I know that “now is the time for members and missionaries to come together, to work together, to labor in the Lord’s vineyard to bring souls unto Him”. Just as Elder Neil L. Andersen once said, “If you’re not a full-time missionary with a missionary badge pinned on your coat, now is the time to paint one on your heart. Paint, as Paul said, ‘Not with ink but with the Spirit of the Living God.”

I know these things are true and these I testify in the name of our Savior Jesus Christ, Amen.

*I shared this testimony in a missionary devotional at MPIR with the Manila Mission Counselor and wife, President and Sister Hyatt. In the devotional was a challenge to give a friend a copy of the Book of Mormon.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑